Apples of Reads!

Crisp autumn nights are upon us and so are fresh picked apples, apple pies, and cider! Become fall-ready this September with these apple themed reads! 

The Apple Orchard by Susan Wiggs 

From the Publisher: Set to inherit half of Bella Vista, a one hundred-acre apple orchard in a town called Archangel, along with a half-sister she’s never heard of, Tess Delaney, who makes a living restoring stolen treasures to their rightful owners, discovers a world filled with the simple pleasures of food and family.

The Simplicity of Cider by Amy Reichert

From the Publisher: Focused and unassuming fifth generation cider-maker Sanna Lund has one desire: to live a simple, quiet life on her family’s apple orchard in Door County, Wisconsin. Although her business is struggling, Sanna remains fiercely devoted to the orchard, despite her brother’s attempts to convince their aging father to sell the land. Single dad Isaac Banks has spent years trying to shield his son Sebastian from his troubled mother. Fleeing heartbreak at home, Isaac packed up their lives and the two headed out on an adventure, driving across the country. Chance–or fate–led them straight to Sanna’s orchard. Isaac’s helping hands are much appreciated at the apple farm, even more when Sanna’s father is injured in an accident. As Sanna’s formerly simple life becomes increasingly complicated, she finds solace in unexpected places–friendship with young Sebastian and something more deliciously complex with Isaac–until an outside threat infiltrates the farm. From the warm and funny Amy E. Reichert, The Simplicity of Cider is a charming love story with a touch of magic, perfect for fans of Sarah Addison Allen and Gayle Forman.

The Cider House Rules by John Irving 

From the Publisher: An American classic first published in 1985 by William Morrow and adapted into an Academy Award-winning film, The Cider House Rules is among John Irving’s most beloved novels. Set in rural Maine in the first half of the twentieth century, it tells the story of Dr. Wilbur Larch—saint and obstetrician, founder and director of the orphanage in the town of St. Cloud’s, ether addict and abortionist. It is also the story of Dr. Larch’s favorite orphan, Homer Wells, who is never adopted.

Sunrise Point by Robyn Carr

From the Publisher: When he returns home to Virgin River to take over his family’s apple orchard and settle down, former Marine Tom Cavanaugh falls for single mother Nora Crane, who is helping out during harvest time.

Apple Turnover Muder by Joanne Fluke 

From the Publisher: Early summer brings plenty of work for baker Hannah Swensen, even before Mayor Bascomb’s wife drops by The Cookie Jar to place an order for her charity event…for eleven hundred cookies! And Hannah almost flips when her business partner, Lisa, suggests setting up an apple turnover stand. But she places her faith in Lisa, and even agrees to be a magician’s assistant in the fundraiser’s talent show.

The only snag is the show’s host, college professor Bradford Ramsey. Hannah and her sister, Michelle, each had unfortunate romances with Ramsey, and when the cad comes sniffing around between acts, Hannah tells him off. But when the curtain doesn’t go up, she discovers Ramsey backstage—dead, with a turnover in his hand. Now she must find a killer who’s flakier than puff pastry, and far more dangerous.

Discord’s Apple by Carrie Vaughn 

From the Publisher: Discovering a magical storeroom in a house she is destined to inherit, Evie Walker finds a cache of mythological and legendary artifacts that she is charged to keep out of the hands of villains who threaten the world with apocalyptic violence.

American Cider: A Modern Guide to a Historic Beverage by Dan Pucci

From the Publisher:  In American Cider, experts Dan Pucci and Craig Cavallo give a new wave of consumers the tools to taste, talk about, and choose their ciders, along with stories of the many local heroes saving heirloom apples and producing new varieties. 

Comfort Me With Apples by Ruth Reichel 

From the Publisher: Comfort Me with Apples picks up Reichl’s story in 1978, when she puts down her chef’s toque and embarks on a career as a restaurant critic. Her pursuit of good food and good company leads her to New York and China, France and Los Angeles, and her stories of cooking and dining with world-famous chefs range from the madcap to the sublime. Through it all, Reichl makes each and every course a hilarious and instructive occasion for novices and experts alike. She shares some of her favorite recipes while also sharing the intimacies of her personal life in a style so honest and warm that readers will feel they are enjoying a conversation over a meal with a friend.

Happy Reading!

-Jessica, Adult Services & Acquisitions Librarian

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.