Be An Informed Car Consumer: Helpful Resources

Did you know that April is designated as National Car Care Month?

Spring is a great time to give a little extra TLC to your vehicle and make sure you are on board with all the regular upkeep and maintenance required.

If you are in the market for a new or used vehicle, here are some Library resources and websites that can be of help.

Every year, the April issue of Consumer Reports provides the latest ratings and reviews of cars along with rigorous reporting on issues that impact consumers.

Besides the physical magazine, your Library  provides access to online issues of Consumer Reports via the Ebsco MasterFile Elite database available on its website. 

First go to www.livingston library.org, then to Digital Resources–Newspapers and Magazines–scroll down to Master File Elite– search for Consumer Reports under publications (on the top bar) and yearly issues come up to the right.

The content of the entire April 2022 car issue is available with articles on top picks, auto safety, new and used car ratings/profiles, car insurance, and others, all accessible with a click.

The magazine collection on Libby, offers access to automotive magazines like

Road & Track and Car & Driver.

Here are some online resources for automobile related information:

Car Guides

Car and Driver: www.caranddriver.com

Carfax: www.carfax.com

Cars.com: www.cars.com

Edmunds: www.edmunds.com

Fuel Economy Ratings: www.fueleconomy.gov

Greener Cars: www.greenercars.org

Hemmings: www.hemmings.com

Kelley Blue Book:www.kbb.com

Leasing Guide: www.edmunds.com/car-leasing

NADA Vehicle Values: www.nadaguides.com

Popular Mechanics Cars: https://www.popularmechanics.com/cars

TrueCar: www.truecar.com

Drivers

Driving Tests: https://livingstonpl.driving-tests.org/new-jersey/

NJ Driver Manual: https://www.state.nj.us/mvc/about/manuals.htm

NJ Motor Vehicle Commission: https://www.state.nj.us/mvc/

Gasoline

NJ Gas Buddy: www.gasbuddy.com

Safety and Recalls

Center for Auto Safety: www.autosafety.org

Insurance Institute For Highway Safety: www.iihs.org

National Highway Traffic Safety Administration://www.nhtsa.gov

-Archana, Adult Services & Acquisitions Librarian

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.