Beaches in Fiction

Beaches are naturally enjoyable. The soft sand, the sound of the waves, the salty smell, the gorgeous view of the land and sea, the warm sun, all make you feel calm and relaxed. While you’re enjoying the relaxing view, why not pick up a book about beaches? Below is a list of fiction books with the setting at a beach. 

The Beach Wedding: a novel by Michael Ledwidge

The best man in his hedge fund manager brother’s spare-no-expense wedding in the Hamptons, Terry Rourke can’t help but take another look at a decades-old murder trial that rocked the town–an investigation that turns even the most beautiful beach wedding into a wake.

Reunion Beach: Stories Inspired by Dorothea Benton Frank by Elin Hilderbrand

A group of bestselling authors pays tribute to legendary New York Times bestselling author Dorothea Benton Frank and her literary legacy, capturing her unforgettable spirit, joy, and humor in stories of reunions and love.

The Palm Beach Murders: Thrillers by James Patterson

The Palm Beach murders: Both survivors of the divorce wars, Christy and Martin don’t believe in love at first sight and certainly not on a first date. But from the instant they lock eyes, life becomes a sexy, romantic dream come true. That is, until they start playing a strangely intense game of make-believe, a game that’s about to go too far.

Death by Beach Read by Eva Gates

It’s spring in the Outer Banks of North Carolina, and Lucy and Connor have moved into their new home at last, a historic cottage on the Nags Head Beach. The house needs a lot of renovations, but they worked hard over the winter to get it ready. Lucy is now happily immersed in her work at the Bodie Island Lighthouse Library, planning her wedding, and decorating the house. That is, until a dead body disrupts their peaceful new abode.

A Walk Along the Beach: a novel by Debbie Macomber

Inseparable since the sudden loss of their mother as teenagers, Willa and Harper Lakey are perfect opposites. When a handsome customer shows interest in Willa, Harper urges her sister to take a chance on love–something totally out of Willa’s comfort zone. But just as Willa begins to explore the possibilities, Harper receives crushing news that threatens to bring everything to a screeching halt.

A Beach Wish : a novel by Shelley Noble

Zoe Bascombe has never said no to her family. When she blew her Juilliard audition, she caved to their wishes and went to business school. But when her mother dies and leaves instructions for Zoe to spread her ashes at a place called Wind Chime Beach, she defies her brothers and starts out for a New England town none of them has ever heard of and discovers a side of her garden club mother that her wildest dreams hadn’t imagined because it turns out Zoe has another family.

The Bookstore on the Beach by Brenda Novak

Autumn takes her kids home for the summer to the charming beachside town where she was raised. She seeks comfort working alongside her mother and aunt at their bookshop…And when she runs into the boy who stole her heart in high school, old feelings start to bubble up again. Is she free to love him, or should she hold out hope for her husband’s return? She can only trust her heart and hope it won’t lead her astray.

The Beach at Painter’s Cove by Shelley Noble

The Whitaker family’s Connecticut mansion, Muses by the Sea, has always been a haven for artists, a hotbed of creativity, extravagances, and the occasional scandal. Art patrons for generations, the Whitakers supported strangers but drained the life out of each other. Now, after being estranged for years, four generations of Whitaker women find themselves once again at the Muses.

Winter at the Beach: a Moonlight Harbor novel by Sheila Roberts

The town of Moonlight Harbor needs to convince tourists that the beach is still the place to be–even when the sunshine goes south for the winter. Jenna Jones, new proprietor of The Driftwood Inn, has the perfect idea: a holiday festival called Seaside with Santa. Jenna is happy to throw herself into planning the event. With all the decorating, preparation and extra reservations at the inn because of the festival–and with two wonderful but very different men hoping to claim more of her time and her heart–Jenna is busy. Busy, but happy.

A Stranger on the Beach by Michele Campbell

There is a stranger outside Caroline’s house. Her spectacular new beach house, built for hosting expensive parties and vacationing with the family she thought she’d have. But her husband is lying to her and everything in her life is upside down, so when the stranger, Aidan, shows up as a bartender at the same party where Caroline and her husband have a very public fight, it doesn’t seem like anything out of the ordinary.

Sunset Beach: a novel  by Mary Kay Andrews

Pull up a lounge chair and have a cocktail at Sunset Beach — it comes with a twist. Drue Campbell’s life is adrift. Out of a job and down on her luck, life doesn’t seem to be getting any better when her estranged father, Brice Campbell, a flamboyant personal injury attorney, shows up at her mother’s funeral after a twenty-year absence. Worse, he’s remarried — to Drue’s eighth grade frenemy, Wendy, now his office manager. And they’re offering her a job.

Whiskey Beach by Nora Roberts

For more than three hundred years, Bluff House has sat above Whiskey Beach, guarding its shore—and its secrets. But to Eli Landon, it’s home.

A Boston lawyer, Eli has weathered an intense year of public scrutiny and police investigations after being accused of—but never arrested for—the murder of his soon-to-be ex-wife.

Palm Beach : a novel  by Mary Adkins

When they both start working for billionaire Cecil Stone and his wife in Palm Beach, New York transplants Rebecca and Mickey become fixtures in the Forbes-list family until Rebecca uncovers a shocking secret that forces her to make a difficult decision.

Beach Colors by Shelley Noble

While renowned designer Margaux Sullivan was presenting her highly praised collection during New York City’s Fashion Week, her husband was cleaning out their bank account. A week after he disappeared, the bank foreclosed on Margaux’s apartment and business.

The Beach House: Coming Home by Georgia Bockoven

Bestselling author Georgia Bockoven is at her powerful and emotional peak in this novel perfect for fans of Nancy Thayer and Elin Hilderbrand. Unlock the door to the beach house…a place where life slows down, people come together, and love is the strongest force of all. After you’ve given your baby to strangers, what do you say when someone asks if you have children? Fourteen years ago, Melinda Campbell was fifteen and a half, pregnant and terrified.

The Endless Beach: a novel by Jenny Colgan

 When Flora MacKenzie traded her glum career in London for the remote Scottish island of Mure, she never dreamed that Joel–her difficult, adorable boss–would follow. Yet now, not only has Flora been reunited with her family and opened a charming café by the sea, but she and Joel are taking their first faltering steps into romance. With Joel away on business in New York, Flora is preparing for the next stage in her life.

Cocoa Beach by Beatriz Williams

 Burdened by a dark family secret, Virginia Fortescue flees her oppressive home in New York City for the battlefields of World War I France. Driving an ambulance for the Red Cross, she meets a charismatic British army surgeon whose persistent charm opens her heart to the possibility of love. As the war rages, Virginia falls into a passionate affair with the dashing Captain Simon Fitzwilliam, only to discover that his past has its own dark secrets–secrets that will damage their eventual marriage and propel her back across the Atlantic to the sister and father she’d left behind.

The Beach at Night by Elena Ferrante

Readers of Elena Ferrante’s The Lost Daughter may recall the little doll―lost or stolen―around which that novel revolves. Here, Ferrante retells the tale from the doll’s perspective.

Celina is having a terrible night, one full of jealousy for the new kitten, Minù; feelings of abandonment and sadness; misadventures at the hands of the beach attendant; and dark dreams. But she will be happily found by Mati, her child, once the sun rises . . .

-Hongmei, Adult Services & Acquisitions Librarian

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.