Have You Listened to These?

Many people love listening to audiobooks since you have the freedom to multitask while you listen to audiobooks. You can listen to audiobooks while driving, cleaning or walking. 

If you would like to listen to the audiobooks from your cell phone, you can go to Hoopla and Libby at https://www.livingstonlibrary.org, thousands of audiobooks are available for streaming or download. 

You can also come to our library to check out audiobooks. Please enjoy the new and popular audiobooks list from Hoopla, Libby  and Livingston Public Library.

Audiobooks From Hoopla, Libby and Livingston Public Library 

New York Times Best Sellers

Nine Perfect Strangers by Liane Moriarty

Hoopla  Libby  Library 

Could ten days at a health resort really change you forever? These nine perfect strangers are about to find out. Nine people gather at a remote health resort. Some are here to lose weight, some are here to get a reboot on life, some are here for reasons they can’t even admit to themselves. Amidst all of the luxury and pampering, the mindfulness and meditation, they know these ten days might involve some real work. But none of them could imagine just how challenging the next ten days are going to be.

Historical Fiction

The Four Winds by Kristin Hannah

Hoopla  LIbby  Library 

Texas, 1934. Millions are out of work and a drought has broken the Great Plains. Farmers are fighting to keep their land and their livelihoods. The crops are failing, the water is drying up, and dust threatens to bury them all. In this uncertain and dangerous time, Elsa Martinelli, like so many of her neighbors, must make an agonizing choice: fight for the land she loves or go west, to California, in search of a better life.

Book Club Recommendations Q2 2022

Don’t Cry For Me By Daniel Black

Hoopla 

A Black father makes amends with his gay son through letters written on his deathbed in this wise and penetrating novel of empathy and forgiveness, for fans of Ta-Nehisi Coates, Robert Jones Jr. and Alice Walker. As Jacob lies dying, he begins to write a letter to his only son, Isaac. They have not met or spoken in many years, and there are things that Isaac must know. Stories about his ancestral legacy in rural Arkansas that extend back to slavery. 

Try Something Different

How to Talk So Kids Will Listen & Listen So Kids Will Talk by Adele Faber

Libby   Library 

Internationally acclaimed adult-child communication experts Adele Faber and Elaine Mazlish’s How to Talk So Kids Will Listen & Listen So Kids Will Talk is a communication tool-kit based on the authors’ popular workshop series. This 30th-anniversary edition offers renewed insight to parents for communicating with their children while avoiding dramatic confrontation.

Listen Up: Great Narrators

The Great Alone by Kristin Hannah

Hoopla  Libby  Library 

This program is read by acclaimed narrator Julia Whelan, whose enchanting voice brought Gone Girl and Fates and Furies to life. Kristin Hannah reads the acknowledgements.

For a family in crisis, the ultimate test of survival.

Ernt Allbright, a former POW, comes home from the Vietnam war a changed and volatile man. When he loses yet another job, he makes an impulsive decision: he will move his family north, to Alaska, where they will live off the grid in America’s last true frontier.

New & Trending Audiobooks

Murder On The Cliff by Jane Adams

Hoopla

It’s lonely out on the cliffs of Marlborough Head-lonely and dangerous. When a body washes up on the rocks below, everyone assumes it must be brutish Edward Parker. Weeks ago, he slipped over the cliff’s edge, never to be seen again. But on closer inspection, it’s not him. The dead man is Pat Duggan, son of a wealthy nightclub owner, and it’s not the sea that killed him-it’s a gunshot wound

Recommended

On A Quiet Street by Seraphina Nora Glass

Hoopla

Who wouldn’t want to live in Brighton Hills? This exclusive community on the Oregon coast is the perfect mix of luxury and natural beauty. Stunning houses nestle beneath mighty Douglas firs, and lush backyards roll down to the lakefront. It’s the kind of place where neighbors look out for one another. Sometimes a little too closely…

Body Positivity

Intuitive Eating by Evelyn Tribole

Hoopla 

When it was first published, Intuitive Eating was revolutionary in its anti-dieting approach. The authors, both prominent health professionals in the field of nutrition and eating disorders, urge readers to embrace the goal of developing body positivity and reconnecting with one’s internal wisdom about eating-to unlearn everything they were taught about calorie-counting and other aspects of diet culture and to learn about the harm of weight stigma. Today, their message is more relevant and pressing than ever.

New Added Audiobooks To Livingston Public Library

The Investigator [sound recording (unabridged book on CD)]  by John Sandford

By age twenty-four, Letty Davenport has seen more action and uncovered more secrets than many law enforcement professionals. Now a recent Stanford grad with a master’s in economics, she’s restless and bored in a desk job for U.S. Senator Colles. Letty’s ready to quit, but her skills have impressed Colles, and he offers her a carrot. 

The Missing Piece [sound recording (unabridged book on CD)]  by John Lescroart

Having joined the “dark side” after years spent prosecuting criminals as the San Francisco DA, defense attorney Wes Farrell is experiencing a crisis of faith. How can he in good conscience defend clients whom, in his estimation, are most likely guilty? In his role as DA, Farrell had helped put away Paul Riley, a young man charged for the rape and murder of his then-girlfriend Dana Rush, only for Riley to later be released from his life sentence – after eleven years of time served – when the Exoneration Initiative unearthed DNA evidence that pinned the crime on someone else.

Beautiful [sound recording (unabridged book on CD)] by  Danielle Steel

Veronique Vincent is the most sought-after model in fashion. But her life is changed after a terrorist attack. Waking up alone in the hospital, her loved ones are dead, and her appearance is altered.

Kingdom of Bones [sound recording (unabridged book on CD)] by James Rollins 

A United Nations relief team in a small village in the Congo makes an alarming discovery. An unknown force is leveling the evolutionary playing field. Men, women, and children have been reduced to a dull, catatonic state while the plants and animals around them have grown more cunning and predatory, evolving at an exponential pace.

A Safe House [sound recording (unabridged book on CD)] by Stuart Woods

Stone Barrington is looking forward to some quiet time in New York City, until he is asked to transport precious, top-secret cargo across the Atlantic. Taking on the challenge, Stone flies off unaware of what—or who—he is bringing with him. 

Death of the Black Widow [sound recording (unabridged book on CD)] by James Patterson

 His first night with Detroit PD, officer Walter O’Brien is called to an indelible murder scene. A woman who bludgeoned her kidnapper eludes all capture, even from the police. Now a detective, he searches for her.

The Homewreckers [sound recording (unabridged book on CD)] : a novel by Mary Kay Andrews

Hattie Kavanaugh went to work helping clean up restored homes for Kavanaugh & Son Restorations at eighteen; married the boss’s son at twenty; and was only twenty-five when her husband, Hank, was killed in a motorcycle accident. Broken hearted, but determined to continue the business of their dreams, she takes the life insurance money, buys a small house in a gentrifying neighborhood, flips it, then puts the money into her next project. 

Nightwork [sound recording (unabridged book on CD)] : a novel by Nora Roberts

Harry Booth started stealing at nine to keep a roof over his ailing mother’s head. When his mother finally succumbed to cancer, he left Chicago, but kept up his nightwork. He cannot afford to attract attention or get attached. Still, he can’t help letting his guard down when he meets Miranda Emerson.

French Braid [sound recording (unabridged book on CD)] : a novel by Anne Tyler

The Garretts take their first and last family vacation in the summer of 1959. They hardly ever venture beyond Baltimore, but in some ways they have never been farther apart. Mercy has trouble resisting the siren call of her aspirations to be a painter, which means less time keeping house for her husband, Robin. Their teenage daughters, steady Alice and boy-crazy Lily, could not have less in common. Their youngest, David, is already intent on escaping his family’s orbit, for reasons none of them understand.

The Diamond Eye [sound recording (unabridged book on CD)] by Kate Quinn

In the snowbound city of Kiev, wry and bookish history student Mila Pavlichenko organizes her life around her library job and her young son, but Hitler’s invasion of Russia sends her on a different path. Given a rifle and sent to join the fight, Mila must forge herself from studious girl to deadly sniper, a lethal hunter of Nazis known as Lady Death. When news of her three hundredth kill makes her a national heroine, Mila finds herself torn from the bloody battlefields of the eastern front and sent to America on a goodwill tour.

-Hongmei, Adult Services & Acquisitions Librarian

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.