Upcoming August Reads

Happy August everyone! Enjoy the last of the sun soaked days before the rush of back to school and the chilly autumn weather sets in. Check out the following books at www.livingstonlibrary.org or via https://ebccls.overdrive.com.

We Are the Brennans by Tracey Lange

Contemporary Fiction

August 3

In the vein of Mary Beth Keane’s Ask Again, Yes and Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney’s The Nest, Tracey Lange’s We Are the Brennans explores the staying power of shame – and the redemptive power of love – in an Irish Catholic family torn apart by secrets.

Lady Parts by Deborah Copaken 

Biography

August 3

From a Fourth of July health scare that brings new meaning to the words rocket’s red glare, to wearing a giant heart monitor while out on dates to try and mend a heart both literally and figuratively broken, Lady Parts is Copaken’s irreverent inventory of the female body and all the ailments that can befall it. 

Yours Cheerfully by A.J. Pearce

Historical Fiction

August 10

From the author of the “jaunty, heartbreaking winner” (People) and international bestseller Dear Mrs. Bird, a new charming and uplifting novel set in London during World War II about a plucky aspiring journalist. 

The King of Infinite Space by Lyndsay Faye

Literary

August 10

In this lush, magical, queer, and feminist take on Hamlet in modern-day New York City, a neuro-atypical philosopher, along with his best friend Horatio and artist ex-fiancee Lia, are caught up in the otherworldly events surrounding the death of his father.

All In by Billie Jean King

Biography

August 17th

An inspiring and intimate self-portrait of a champion of equality that encompasses her brilliant tennis career, unwavering activism, and an ongoing commitment to fairness and social justice.

Bloodless by Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child

Thriller

August 17th

Agent Pendergast faces his most unexpected challenge yet when bloodless bodies begin to appear in Savannah, GA, in this installment of the #1 New York Times bestselling series (also my most anticipated book of 2021!!)

Paradise: One Town’s Struggle to Survive an American Wildfire by Lizzie Johnson

Non-Fiction

August 17

The definitive firsthand account of California’s Camp Fire – the nation’s deadliest wildfire in a century – and a riveting examination of what went wrong and how to avert future tragedies as the climate crisis unfolds.

Velvet Was the Night by Silvia Moreno-Garcia

Literary

August 17

From the New York Times bestselling author of Mexican Gothic comes a riveting noir about a daydreaming secretary, a lonesome thug, and the mystery of the missing woman that brings them together.

A Slow Fire Burning by Paula Hawkins

Thriller

August 31

With the same propulsion that captivated millions of readers worldwide in The Girl on the Train and Into the Water, Paula Hawkins unfurls a gripping, twisting story of deceit, murder, and revenge.

The Heart Principle by Helen Hoang 

Romance

August 31

USA Today bestselling author Helen Hoang returns with a witty and sizzling new romance that shows how wrong you can be about someone…and how right they can be for you.

Happy Reading!

-Katie Neylan, Head of Adult Services & Acquisitions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *