Upcoming February Reads

Can you believe it’s February already and that we’re a whole month into 2021? Let’s grab some chocolates and get into this month’s releases! Reserve these online at www.livingstonlibrary.org or via https://ebccls.overdrive.com.

How the One-armed Sister Sweeps Her House by Cherie Jones

Fiction

February 2

In the tradition of Zadie Smith and Marlon James, this debut novel set in Barbados from a brilliant Caribbean writer depicts four people each desperate to escape their legacy of violence in a so-called “paradise”.

Animal, Vegetable, Junk: A History of Food, from Sustainable to Suicidal by Mark Bittman

Non-Fiction

February 2

From hunting and gathering to GMOs and ultra processed foods, this expansive tour of human history rewrites the story of our species; and points the way to a better future.

The Four Winds by Kristin Hannah

Fiction

February 2

From Kristin Hannah, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Nightingale and The Great Alone, comes an epic novel of love and heroism and hope, set against the backdrop of one of America’s most defining eras—the Great Depression.

Resetting the Table: Straight Talk About the Food We Grow and Eat by Robert Paarlberg

Non-Fiction

February 2

A bold, science-based corrective to the groundswell of misinformation about food and how it’s produced, examining in detail local and organic food, food companies, nutrition labeling, ethical treatment of animals, environmental impact, and every other aspect from farm to table

The Burning Girls by C.J. Tudor

Thriller

February 9

An unconventional vicar moves to a remote corner of the English countryside, only to discover a community haunted by death and disappearances both past and present–and intent on keeping its dark secrets – in this explosive, unsettling thriller from acclaimed author C. J. Tudor.

Unfinished: A Memoir  by Priyanka Chopra Jonas

Memoir

February 9 

A remarkable life story rooted in two different worlds, Unfinished offers insights into Priyanka Chopra Jonas’s childhood in India; her formative teenage years in the United States; and her return to India, where against all odds as a newcomer to the pageant world, she won the national and international beauty competitions that launched her global acting career. 

The Power Couple by Alex Berenson

Thriller

February 9

From #1 New York Times bestselling author and Edgar Award winner Alex Berenson comes a supercharged thriller about marriage and the dangerous secrets spouses keep.

A Court of Silver Flames by Sarah Maas

Fantasy

February 16

The fourth book in the Court of Thorns and Roses series from #1 global bestseller Sarah J. Maas.

Vibrate Higher by Talib Kweli

Biography

February 16

Before Talib Kweli became a world-renowned hip hop artist, he was a Brooklyn kid who liked to cut class, spit rhymes, and wander the streets of Greenwich Village with a motley crew of artists, rappers, and DJs who found hip hop more inspiring than their textbooks (much to the chagrin of the educator parents who had given their son an Afrocentric name in hope of securing for him a more traditional sense of pride and purpose). 

Queens of the Crusades: England’s Medieval Queens Book Two by Alison Weir

Biography

February 23

Packed with incredible true stories and legendary medieval intrigue, this epic narrative history chronicles the first five queens from the powerful royal family that ruled England and France for over three hundred years. 

Happy Reading!

-Katie Neylan, Head of Adult Services & Acquisitions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.