Upcoming January Reads

Happy 2021 Everyone! It’s a new year filled with loads of amazing books. We have a lot of great new titles to check out, so let’s dive right in. Reserve these online at www.livingstonlibrary.org or via https://ebccls.overdrive.com!

The Wife Upstairs by Rachel Hawkins

Thriller

January 5th

A delicious twist on a Gothic classic, Rachel Hawkins’s The Wife Upstairs pairs Southern charm with atmospheric domestic suspense, perfect for fans of B.A. Paris and Megan Miranda.

Aftershocks: A Memoir by Nadia Owusu

Memoir

January 12

In the tradition of The Glass Castle, a deeply felt memoir from Whiting Award;winner Nadia Owusu about the push and pull of belonging, the seismic emotional toll of family secrets, and the heart it takes to pull through.

The Perfect Guests by Emma Rous

Thriller

January 12

The USA Today bestselling author of The Au Pair returns with another delicious, twisty novel—about a grand estate with many secrets, an orphan caught in a web of lies, and a young woman playing a sinister game.

The Last Garden in England by Julia Kelly

Historical

January 12

Emma Lovett, who has dedicated her career to breathing new life into long-neglected gardens, has just been given the opportunity of a lifetime: to restore the gardens of the famed Highbury House estate, designed in 1907 by her hero Venetia Smith. But as Emma dives deeper into the gardens’ past, she begins to uncover secrets that have long lain hidden.

The Scorpion’s Tail by Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child

Mystery/Thriller

January 12

#1 bestselling authors Preston & Child return with the next book in a series featuring archaeologist Nora Kelly and FBI Agent Corrie Swanson. 

Icebound: Shipwrecked at the Edge of the World by Andrea Pitzer

Non-Fiction

January 12

In the bestselling tradition of Hampton Sides’ In the Kingdom of Ice, a riveting and cinematic tale of Dutch polar explorer William Barents and his three harrowing Arctic expeditions; the last of which resulted in a relentlessly challenging year-long fight for survival.

Shipped by Angie Hockman

Romance

January 19

Marketing manager Henley Evans barely has time for herself, let alone family, friends, or dating. But when she’s shortlisted for the promotion of her dreams, all her sacrifices finally seem worth it. The only problem? Graeme Crawford-Collins, the remote social media manager and the bane of her existence, is also up for the position. 

Before She Disappeared by Lisa Gardner

Thriller

January 19

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Lisa Gardner, a propulsive thriller featuring an ordinary woman who will stop at nothing to find the missing people that the rest of the world has forgotten.

Let Me Tell You What I Mean by Joan Didion

Memoir

January 26

Twelve early pieces never before collected that offer an illuminating glimpse into the mind and process of Joan Didion.

Ida B. the Queen: The Extraordinary Life and Legacy of Ida B. Wells by Michelle Duster

Biography

January 26

Journalist. Suffragist. Antilynching crusader. In 1862, Ida B. Wells was born enslaved in Holly Springs, Mississippi. In 2020, she won a Pulitzer Prize.

Chatter: The Voice in Our Head, Why It Matters, and How to Harness It by Ethan Kross

Non-Fiction

January 26

An award-winning psychologist reveals the hidden power of our inner voice and shows how we can harness it to live a healthier, more satisfying, and more productive life.

Happy Reading!

-Katie Neylan, Head of Adult Services & Acquisitions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.