Upcoming November Reads

November has finally crept up on us, and it’s time to see what new releases are out this month. Grab your favorite blanket, some warm apple cider and be thankful for the following reads. Reserve these books now at www.livingstonlibrary.org or via https://ebccls.overdrive.com!

This Time Next Year We’ll Be Laughing by Jacqueline Winspear 

Memoir

November 3rd, 2020

An eye-opening and heartfelt portrayal of a post-War England we rarely see, This Time Next Year We’ll Be Laughing is the story of a childhood in the English countryside, of working class indomitability and family secrets, of artistic inspiration and the price of memory.

White Ivy by Susie Yang

Contemporary Fiction

November 3rd, 2020

Filled with surprising twists and offering sharp insights into the immigrant experience, White Ivy is both a love triangle and a coming-of-age story, as well as a glimpse into the dark side of a woman who yearns for success at any cost. 

The Thirty Names of Night by Zeyn Joukhadar 

Contemporary Fiction

November 10, 2020

The author of the “vivid and urgent…important and timely” (The New York Times Book Review) debut The Map of Salt and Stars returns with this remarkably moving and lyrical novel following three generations of Syrian Americans who are linked by a mysterious species of bird and the truths they carry close to their hearts.

Fortune and Glory by Janet Evanovich

Mystery & Thriller

November 10, 2020

The twenty-seventh entry in the #1 New York Times bestselling series isn’t just the biggest case of Stephanie Plum’s career. It’s the adventure of a lifetime. When Stephanie’s beloved Grandma Mazur’s new husband died on their wedding night, the only thing he left her was a beat-up old easy chair…and the keys to a life-changing fortune.

I Want To Be Where the Normal People Are by Rachel Bloom

Memoir

November 10, 2020

In the vein of Mindy Kaling, Ali Wong, and Amy Poehler, a collection of hilarious personal essays, poems and even amusement park maps on the subjects of insecurity, fame, anxiety, and much more from the charming and wickedly funny creator of Crazy Ex-Girlfriend.

Dearly: New Poems by Margaret Atwood

Poetry

November 10, 2020

In Dearly, Margaret Atwood’s first collection of poetry in over a decade, Atwood addresses themes such as love, loss, the passage of time, the nature of nature and – zombies.

Goodbye Phone, Hello World: 65 Ways to Disconnect from Tech and Reconnect to Joy by Paul Greenberg

Non-Fiction

November 10, 2020

This book is not a phone! Goodbye Phone, Hello World features 65 bite-size, device-free activities scientifically proven to promote true happiness.

With wit, wisdom, and warmth, bestselling author Paul Greenberg presents practices for connection, mindfulness, conversation, creativity, and well-being.

We Keep the Dead Close: A Murder at Harvard and a Half Century of Silence by Becky Cooper 

True Crime

November 10, 2020

We Keep the Dead Close is a memoir of mirrors, misogyny, and murder. It is at once a rumination on the violence and oppression that rules our revered institutions, a ghost story reflecting one young woman’s past onto another’s present, and a love story for a girl who was lost to history.

Moonflower Murders by Anthony Horowitz

Mystery and Thriller

November 10, 2020

Sequel to Magpie Murders. Retired publisher Susan Ryeland returns to London to investigate the story of a strange and mysterious death she heard about while running a hotel in Greece.

Uncomfortable Conversations with a Black Man by Emmanuel Acho 

Non-Fiction

November 10, 2020

In Uncomfortable Conversations With a Black Man, Acho takes on all the questions, large and small, insensitive and taboo, many white Americans are afraid to ask—yet which all Americans need the answers to, now more than ever. 

A Promised Land by Barack Obama

Memoir

November 17, 2020

In the stirring, highly anticipated first volume of his presidential memoirs, Barack Obama tells the story of his improbable odyssey from a young man searching for his identity to the leader of the free world.

Ready Player Two by Ernest Cline

Science Fiction

November 24, 2020

The highly anticipated sequel to the beloved worldwide bestseller Ready Player One, the “ridiculously fun and large-hearted” (NPR) near-future adventure that inspired the blockbuster Steven Spielberg film. 

Dark Tides by Philippa Gregory

November 24, 2020

Historical Fiction

Set in the poverty and glamour of Restoration London, in the golden streets of Venice, and on the tensely contested frontier of early America, this is a novel of greed and desire: for love, for wealth, for a child, and for home. (The Fairmile #2).

Happy Reading!

-Katie Neylan, Head of Adult Services & Acquisitions 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *